You are currently viewing How To Repost on Facebook: Steps to Follow

How To Repost on Facebook: Steps to Follow

Spread the love

Did you come across an informative or funny post on Facebook and you want to repost it for your friends to see? Facebook provides the option for you to quickly repost content that has been posted by others, including videos, images, status updates, and many more.

The share feature that appears on each post on the Facebook platform allows you to share a post created by other people with the exception of likes and comments. If you like a friend’s post or leave a comment on their post, it sends the post to the top of your friend’s timeline.

Let’s see how to repost on Facebook.

How To Repost on Facebook with Comments and Likes

These are the steps to follow when you want to repost content while maintaining the comments and likes on the post.

HOW TO REPOST ON FACEBOOK

Find the post you want to repost on Facebook.

Go to your friend’s timeline to find the post you want to repost. Here, you have to make sure you don’t use the share button because you want to repost while maintaining the comments and likes on the post.

You can repost a friend’s post while maintaining the likes and comments on the post by leaving a like or comment on the post.

You can use this method to repost your old content on your timeline for people to see.

This isn’t how to repost on Facebook, but it is the only way to repost with the likes and comments on the post. Using the share button will repost the content without the likes and comments.

We will also look at how to repost content on Facebook without comments and likes later in this article.

Leave a like or comment on your friend’s post.

Leaving a like or comment on your friend’s post, will send it to the top of your friend’s feeds. This will make other people see the content. You can do the same on your post too; it will shoot it up for your friends and followers to see.

Don’t touch the share button in these steps.

With reposting on Facebook with comments and likes, you have to avoid the share button at all costs. This will maintain the likes and comments on the post while reaching a new audience.

 

RELATED: How To Save Videos from Facebook Messenger 2021

 

How To Repost on Facebook without Comments and Likes

This section will talk about how to repost on Facebook without the comments and likes.

how to repost on facebook without likes and comments

Locate the content you want to repost.

To repost your content or a friend’s content for others to see without the original likes and comments on the post, you can use the method I am about to share but you must first find the content you want to repost.

This will get rid of the comments and likes present on the original post.

Hit the share button.

Once you locate the post you want to repost on Facebook, you can click on the Share button located beneath the post. This will repost the content with the likes and comments on them.

Choose where you want the post to be reposted.

share content on facebook

After clicking the share button, you will see a pop-up window below. It has the option for you to share posts “now” (which is to your timeline), in messenger, to a group, or to a page you manage.

  • If you choose the share now, it will be reposted to your timeline.
  • If you choose to share in a group, you will be asked to select the group
  • If you choose to share to a page, the number of pages you manage will pop up for you to select one.
  • You can also share with your friends who are on Facebook messenger.

Write something.

If you click on the share button to repost something, you will be asked to write a message which will be added to the post when it is reposted. Your message will appear on top of your reposted content.

Change privacy option.

how to repost on facebook privacy

You can change the privacy option on your post. The privacy option allows you to choose who you want to see your post. You can set it to public, friends, only you.

  • To choose the privacy on your post, click the three dots found at the top right corner of the content you reposted.
  • Click on edit privacy from the menu that pops up
  • Select who can see your post.

 

Conclusion

These are the 2 methods you can use to repost on Facebook. It works both on the Facebook app and on the Facebook web.

If you have any other method you use to repost on Facebook, kindly drop it in the comment box.

 

FAQ.

Can I repost a post that I was tagged in?

Ans: No, you can’t repost content that you were tagged in, it will even show on your timeline, regardless. Once you are tagged in a post, it shows on your timeline.

Kelvin Nii Ayi Aryee

I am a Social Media Marketer and Consultant and my aim is to help businesses and startups use the power of social media to increase their marketing effort and build a strong audience for their brand. I do this by implementing various social media marketing strategies to bring in more sales, traffic and leads for businesses through various social media platforms. Specialties: Social Media Marketing, Online Marketing, blogging, Affiliate Marketing and Email Marketing.

Leave a Reply