Are you fed up with TikTok and looking for a way to delete your account on the platform?
If you answered Yes to the above question, then keep reading this guide because I will be teaching you how to delete your TikTok account.
TikTok is one of the growing social media networks on the internet currently with a global userbase of more than 800 million users. It is a platform to find the most trending and viral entertainment content. But like any other social media platform, there are times that one would like to delete their account to start all over or delete their account because of personal reasons.
Whatever your reasons are, I will be teaching you how to delete a TikTok account to help you delete your account if you want to.
Be informed that once you delete your account, it cannot be undone. It is an irreversible procedure.
Let’s get started
How To Delete a TikTok Account on Your Mobile Device?
If you finally come to the agreement that you want to delete your TikTok account, here’s how to do that;
Before you delete your TikTok account, you need to log in to the app.
- Navigate to your profile tab.
- Tap on the “Settings and Privacy” tab located at the top right corner (three horizontal dots)
- You will see the option to Manage your Account.
- Click on “Manage account”.
- You will be taken to another page for you to choose the reason why you want to delete your account.
- Choose your reason and click on “Continue”
- Confirm you want to permanently delete your TikTok account.
Your account will be permanently deleted. You will be asked to verify your identity if you have your Google account linked to your TikTok.
That’s it. You have up to 30 days to change your mind or your account will be deleted permanently.
How To Delete a TikTok Account on Your Computer?
If for some reason, you don’t have the TikTok app downloaded on your mobile device, you can use the PC version to delete your account.
Here’s is how to delete a TikTok account on your computer using the browser version:
Open your Chrome browser and go to TikTok.com.
- Log in to your TikTok account.
- Tap on your profile photo located at the top right corner of your page and click on
- Under Manage account, locate the “Delete Account” option and follow the steps to complete your account deletion.
Watch this video on how to delete a TikTok account:
What Happens When You Delete Your TikTok Account?
TikTok allows you to have a 30 days grace period after you have requested for your account to be deleted. During these 30 days, you can decide to cancel the account deletion process so that your TikTok account will be reactivated. If you are sure that you want to permanently delete your account then you don’t have to do anything and your account will be permanently deleted.
When you delete your TikTok account, you will permanently lose all your messages or any form of communication you’ve made with other users on the platform.
Once your TikTok account gets deleted, it goes with the media you’ve shared on the platform. No need to delete them individually.
When you delete your TikTok account, your account is no more visible on the platform. You have to create an account again if you change your mind later and you want to come back.
So, deleting your TikTok account is an opportunity to start your TikTok account all over again.
Why Can’t I Delete My TikTok Account?
There are many reasons why you will not be able to delete your TikTok account and we will be looking at a few in this section. You might encounter some of them while trying to delete your TikTok account.
You can’t delete your TikTok account if you don’t have any contact information attached to your account. To solve this issue, you have to connect either your phone or email address to your TikTok account.
Another method you could use to delete your account is to uninstall the TikTok app on your mobile device. Locate the TikTok app on your mobile device, press and hold down to show the pop-up window, and choose the “Uninstall” button to uninstall the app from your device. This will allow you to delete your TikTok account.
Related: HOW TO MAKE MONEY ON TIKTOK In 2021
Conclusion On How to Delete a TikTok Account
Deleting your TikTok account isn’t rocket science, you can do that by simply following the steps outlined in this guide.
After requesting for your account to be deleted, you still have a grace period of 30 days for you to change your mind and reactivate your account.
I hope this guide is helpful and you will be able to delete your TikTok account following the process explained here.
Leave your questions in the comment box below.
Don’t forget to share this guide with your connections on social media.